Criminal Law

HAVE YOU BEEN CHARGED WITH A CRIME? CALL AN EXPERIENCED WINSTON-SALEM CRIMINAL LAW ATTORNEY.

Being accused of a criminal charge in North Carolina can be a very stressful situation, and during such a serious time, you need an experienced North Carolina criminal law attorney who will provide you with competent representation and realistic, honest advice about your criminal case.  Whether you’re charged with a misdemeanor or  felony in Forsyth County or one of the surrounding counties, we provide representation for criminal law defense in many areas including the following:

MISDEMEANORS (including but not limited to the following)

  • Simple Assault and Assault on a Female
  • Assault on a Government Official
  • Assault with a Deadly Weapon
  • Child abuse
  • Carrying a Concealed Weapon
  • Violation of a a 50-B (Domestic Violence Protective Order)
  • Possession of Marijuana
  • Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
  • Shoplifting/Concealment of Goods
  • Misdemeanor Larceny
  • Possession of Stolen Goods
  • Trespassing (First Degree and Second Degree)
  • Communicating Threats
  • Resisting a Police/Law Enforcement Officer
  • Prostitution
  • Underage Drinking

North Carolina Misdemeanor Categories

In North Carolina, there are four categories of misdemeanors: A1, 1, 2, and 3.  With each category, there are different punishments.

Class A1 misdemeanors – This is the most serious misdemeanor.  A person who is charged with a class A1 misdemeanor faces a maximum penalty of 150 days in jail  as well as a fine that may be imposed at the discretion of the Court.

Class 1 misdemeanors – A person who is charged with a class 1 misdemeanor faces a maximum penalty of 120 days in jail as well as a fine that may be imposed at the discretion of the Court.

Class 2 misdemeanors – A person who is charged with a class 2 misdemeanor faces a maximum penalty of sixty 60 days in jail as well as a fine that may be imposed at the discretion of the Court, although the fine may not exceed $1,000.

Class 3 misdemeanors – A person who is charged with a class 3 misdemeanor faces a maximum penalty of twenty 20 days in jail as well as a fine that may be imposed at the discretion of the Court, although the fine may not exceed at $200.

 

FELONIES – A felony is a very serious criminal charge in North Carolina, and we have represented numerous clients for various felony offenses in Forsyth County and  the surrounding counties.  Some of these felonies include but are not limited to the following North Carolina felony criminal charges:

  • Possession of Cocaine
  • Possession of Marijuana
  • Possession of Heroin
  • Possession with the Intent to Sell/Deliver Marijuana (PWISD Marijuana)
  • Possession with the Intent to Sell/Deliver Cocaine (PWISD Cocaine)
  • Sell/Deliver a Controlled Substance
  • Conspiracy
  • Trafficking Marijuana, Cocaine, or Heroin
  • Felony Larceny
  • Felony Possession of Stolen Goods
  • Obtaining Property by False Pretenses
  • Possession of a Firearm by a Felon
  • Felony Assault

 

A criminal conviction carries serious consequences that will affect you for years to come.  If you are charged in North Carolina with a crime in Forsyth County or one of the surrounding counties such as Guilford, Davie, Davidson, or Yadkin, you will need an experienced North Carolina criminal law attorney who is dedicated to helping you and who sincerely cares about the outcome of your case.  At the Law Offices of Frederick B. Adams, we will give you the advice you need and the representation you deserve.  Call us today at (336) 725-6559 to schedule a free consultation with an experienced criminal law attorney.